Interview with Sophie T from Painkiller Clothing.

So the first interview on this blog is with a very talented friend of mine.
Sophie started her own clothing company making some of the most amazing one off pieces for the metal music scene and has been building her success consistently since I’ve known her.
I was lucky enough to be introduced through a mutual friend and stylist who organised a shoot with both of us while I was interning at a central London studio in 2013.

Sophie is a fantastic example of someone who has dropped everything to pursue their dreams. In fact in lots of ways her success is enough to make most creative types turn a little green with jealousy!
Anyways here is the interview. I hope you guys enjoy it and any feedback you want to give or extra questions you want asked I’m happy to pass on 🙂

2015/01/img_0276.jpg

What started your fascination with clothing design?
A: I’ve always enjoyed extreme fashion, from the avant-garde to heavy metal style. I reached a point where I couldn’t find a particular clothing style I was happy with in retail so I began to design my own clothing.

How long have you been doing Painkiller?
A: I started making clothing for myself just over 2 years ago and it all happened from that! 😊

What makes Painkiller clothing different? And what is your brand ethos?
A: Embracing heavy metal culture, fashion and personal style. Every piece I make is a reflection of my style; it’s bringing out that confidence to wear what you want to wear and finding that dream piece of clothing that I can create for someone.

Who is your idol?
A: I try not to have idols anymore as it can influence my work too much. However other artists and designers I like that keep me inspired to keep designing are Judas Priest, Alexander McQueen, Thierry Mugler, Versace, Ray Brown, Lady Gaga, Michael Hussar, Brian Froud, the list continues…

What makes painkiller clothing successful?
A: I have incredibly supportive clients and admirers of my clothing, which I appreciative every single day when working. Without them, it’s very difficult to do what I do without that! Heavy metal fashion for women and men isn’t always as available as it was 30 years ago and I love to create pieces with that vibe.

What is your biggest achievement so far?
A: Biggest achievement is probably working with bands and artists all over the globe. over the past 6 months I’ve been lucky enough to create items for Týr and Alestorm, whose music I both enjoy. When it’s something you aspire to do and the opportunity finally arises, it’s like hard work pays off for that ultimate goal.

Do you have any advice for other people wishing to follow in your footsteps?
A: Hard work pays off! 6 years ago I used to hate sewing and now it’s a daily part of my life I wouldn’t part with. Aspire high! 😃

What would you be doing if you weren’t making clothes?
A: Oh my god I have no idea at all! I’m an arty person, so maybe makeup or prop making? If I ever went to uni I would have done a degree in Cordwainers, my next love to sewing is high heels!

What does the future hold for you and Painkiller?
A: I just aim to climb higher and widen my target market! Expanding my brand will be a target, although I will keep it a one woman show still. I want to work with more artists and show the world what I do!

I would totally recommend checking out her website www.painkillerclothing.com

2015/01/img_0280.png

Leave a Reply

