#iPhone Only – Covering a Catwalk

IMG_1074

The other day my stylist friend Giuliana (her blog here) invited me to come to a catwalk event called London Fashion Kick.
She was going to cover the event and interview some of the designers and I was just along for the ride.

IMG_1264

However after arriving at the event and realising I’d made the fatal mistake of leaving my camera batteries on charge back at the studio I was faced with the challenge of shooting the event on the only camera I had with me, which was my iPhone.

Catwalk events are tricky enough, short window for focus and capture, often with harsh lighting and cramped conditions, dark areas and a hundred other photographers flashes going off every where make it an autofocus nightmare! Add to this a small 8mp camera with no zoom and awful noise suppression and dynamic capture I thought it was pretty much an impossible task.

But they always say “the best camera is the one you have on you” so I decided to give it a go anyways. After all the pictures were for web, not print, and even a instagram style shot would be better than nothing!
I downloaded a camera app to control the exposure but unfortunately it didn’t respond quick enough to the fast moving models so in the end I used the standard camera app on the iPhone.
I put the pictures through PS touch to try and get some control back over the highlights but after a lot of fussing around I ended up leaving them mainly as they were.

IMG_1287 IMG_1290 IMG_1288 IMG_1286 IMG_1285 IMG_1284 IMG_1283 IMG_1282 IMG_1281

So although it is possible to cover a event using just an iPhone….I would not recommend it! In a well lit environment with static subjects the camera is capable but for fast moving and darker locations I would always go with something that has fast autofocus and preferably a flash with a range of over 5ft!

Leave a Reply

